Me & Botanical Portraits

My journey in botanical photography is coming to a decade, and there were many ups and downs. I enjoy finding strange and amazing plants to capture their beauty in my interpretation. I met a lot of amazing people who were willing to share their knowledge and show me plants that few in this world would have even seen. I am very lucky to have the support to pursue this passion.

“Botanical photography is not glamorous. All the models are rooted.”

This unending journey was not all roses. Unlike wildlife, landscape, travel or portrait photography, my botanical portraits needs the viewers to have patience. What seems like a simple botanical image usually involves a complex lighting approach with focus on details to highlight the beauty of the subject. A friend of mine once told me “these (botanical portraits) will not gather any traction in the impatient world we live in now.” He is right.

“Simplicity is never Simple”

So why do I still photograph plants? Simply because; When people take time to look and see the beauty that mother earth created; When people slow down to look and see the botanical portraits that I created; When people look and see the story in the images; When people see that the quest for Simplicity is never Simple.

Pleurothallis jimii
The lighting transition on the leaf followed by pose of the flower in a dreamy state looking into nothingness while still being rooted. Notice the shadow of the flower stem at the base of the leaf.
Image taken with Sony A7III + Sigma 70mm F2.8 Macro Art
Camo: Ae Ae Hawaiian Variegated banana
Image taken with Sigma sd Quattro H + Sigma 35mm F1.4 Art
Dendrobium delicatum
Image taken with Sony A7III + Canon TS-E 90mm

Leave a comment